Updates and Life Changes

So I haven’t been updating my blog very frequently this past year.  I’ve mentioned this before but my life has been incredibly crazy and super busy. This, however, has recently come to an end. I have decided to quit ballet for the time being. I hope to continue dancing in college in some form, maybe joining a dance company or taking ballet classes, but my professional ballet career/dream is now over. Making this decision was probably one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do. I’ve been debating and considering stopping this whole year, and in recent months, I realized the ballet world is not the place I want to live my life.

I’ve been struggling, as old readers know, with an eating disorder. Trying to live in a world full of competition and uncertainty whilst dealing with serious body image and eating issues is incredibly stressful. I’ve had a long time to consider all my options and it was difficult but I realized that my mental health was more important. In order for me to find happiness, I need to be healthy in all forms. Not just physically but mentally and emotionally.  Ballet was not making me happy. When I finally admitted this to myself, I was able to make this life changing decision.

Ballet was never just a phase, and I won’t ever consider it one. Ballet is a part of me and always will be. I will forever be a dancer, but I hope to move forward to create a new life for myself and find something else that makes me happy.

So, what this means for my blog? I want to start gravitating to more of a lifestyle blog…which means I may not have a recipe attached to every post.  I’m going to try to post some more overall health and life tips.  I hope to get back to baking, but since I’ll be going to college and living in a dorm, I don’t think that cooking and baking will be an everyday thing next year.  Since I’m free this summer, I do plan on posting more this month and the next.

Thats all for now but if you made it this far, thanks for reading! 🙂

Love,

Jess

Leave a Reply

